News‎ > ‎

AGM Well attended

posted 30 Nov 2010, 13:56 by Cill Daingin   [ updated 4 Dec 2010, 13:20 ]
The Club Executive committee held its AGM in Kildangan Hall on Sunday 28th November 2010 and despite the sub-zero temperatures, a large number of Club Officers and Members were present.

To begin the meeting, Club Secretary Maureen Fitzgerald gave a comprehensive report of club activities for 2010. Acknowledgment was made of the many great achievements by the various squads in the Club. The report also acknowledged the enormous contributions given by a large number of volunteers and the co-operation of the various officers throughout the year. The report continued, highlighting the many successful events held throughout the year. The Under 13 Cuchulainn Gaels Team was congratulated in their tremendous achievement of winning the Division 2 final. Another highlight was the girls success in bring All-Ireland medals to the club as part of the community games team.

This was followed by the Treasurers Report by Club Treasurer, Fiona Whelan. During the presentation, which included a summary of all club income and expenditure, Fiona placed special emphasis on the importance of the Pigeon House Lotto as a regular source of income, especially in these recessionary times.

John Nealon began his Chairman’s address by commenting on the remarkable growth of Kildangan GAA Club over a short period of time both in terms of playing numbers and the incredible achievements in the club at all levels-a fact illustrated by Kildangan winning the club of the year award, a tremendous honour for both club and village. John outlined the busy year 2010 had been for the club; practically every month some event took place, some of the highlights of which were the official opening of the pitch in May and the Crumlin Charity game in August. John congratulated and wished continued success to Pauric Casey, currently training with the Kildare Junior team, adding that he hoped to see Pauric wearing the Lily White of Kildare in the not too distant future.

John went on to thank the many volunteers who gave freely of their time to assist in running the club. John stated that in 2010 Kildangan hosted 8 championship matches, and we had a full compliment of linesmen and umpires for every game. Additionally Tom Moran had the grounds in superb condition for every game.

In closing, the chairman again emphasized the importance of the Pigeon House Lotto in keeping the club finances healthy and he urged all members not currently enrolled to sign up.

Election of officers for 2011 took place with the following Officers taking up their positions for the coming year;

Honorary President: Jim Miller

Life Presidents: John Casey, Tom Moran Snr, Joe Pender

Chairman: John Nealon

Vice Chairman: Declan McGrath

Secretary: Maureen Fitzgerald

Assistant Secretary: (To be decided at next Executive Meeting)

Treasurer: Fiona Whelan

Assistant Treasurer: Norrie Quigley

Registrar: Fiona Whelan

PRO: Michael Higgins

County Board : John Miller

Youth Officer: (To be decided at next Executive Meeting)

Players Representative: (To be elected by players in New Year)

ASAP Officer: (To be decided at next Executive Meeting)

Committee: Gabriel Murtagh, John Kilbride, Mary Claire O'Fearghail, Tom Moran Jnr, Richard Holligan, Charlie Sexton, Mel O'Dowd, John Reilly, Keith Burns, Claire Quigley, Ann Marie Miller, Eileen Miller.