News‎ > ‎

AGM Report 2018

posted 13 Jan 2019, 12:00 by rúnaí Cill Daingin
Our AGM for 2018 was held in the clubhouse at More O'Ferrall Park on Saturday 12th January, it was an opportunity to reflect on 2018 and discuss plans for the upcoming year. The committee for the upcoming year was elected.

Kildangan stalwart and committee member Charlie Sexton started proceedings by paying respects to club members that passed away during the year.

Michael Higgins, club secretary, gave a month-by-month account of 2018 covering the successes of Kildangan and Abbey Rangers juvenile teams, the steady progress of our senior team and the challenges we faced throughout 2018.

Next up was juvenile chairman, John Reilly, referred to the progress that has been made at all underage levels within the club, and the school programme, which runs over a total of twelve weeks. John praised our under 12 team, and spoke of their sportsmanlike approach to defeat in the county final. He commended the mentors and parents for their support along the way, acknowledging that none of this progress could have been achieved without their assistance. 

Club treasurer Mel O'Dowd gave a report on the club finances for 2018 which sees the club in a healthy position, Mel thanked the many sponsors in particular The Cross Keys Pub and Green Generation, not forgetting the welcome contribution from J.P McManus. All monies were accounted for to the satisfaction of the meeting.

Club chairman, Declan McGrath, gave an overview of the many challenges facing GAA clubs, in particular smaller clubs such as Kildangan. Despite the challenges Declan stated that Kildangan finished 2018 stronger than it had begun, with our senior team reaching both a league quarter final and championship semi final. Declan paid thanks to senior manager Shane Stafford and selector Tom Moran.

Declan highlighted our underage amalgamation with Ballykelly as another positive aspect, stating that Abbey Rangers had won a county title at some level every year since the start of the amalgamation in 2015. Declan announced that following a meeting with Ballykelly the arrangement would continue for 2019.

The club chairman then went on to mention the opening of the grounds to walkers during the long winter nights, a step towards making the club an integral part of the community of Kildangan.

Declan thanked the other committee members for their diligent work, and also paid tribute to outgoing committee members Andrew Wilson and John Nealon for their time and efforts. He highlighted the Night at the Dogs as a particular example of the community coming together, thanking the O'Donovan family for their great work in organising the event.

Finally Declan thanked all the club sponsors including Worrells Gala, Green Generation and Long Reach Construction.

Concluding his address, Declan stated that with a positive approach and a shared effort, at next years AGM we will be able to look back on 2019 as another year where Kildangan GAA made positive progress.

As there were no motions for discussion there followed the election of committee members. Our committee for 2019 is as follows:

Honorary President:
Jim Miller

Life Presidents:
Tom Moran Snr

Executive Committee:
Chairperson: Declan McGrath
Secretary & Registrar: Michael Higgins
Treasurer: Mel O'Dowd
Assistant Treasurer: 
Public Relations Officer: Louise Fitzgerald
County Board Delegate: 
Underage Chairperson: John Reilly
Children's Officer: Maureen Fitzgerald

Extended Committee:
John Kilbride
Brendan Abbey
Liam O'Donovan
Robbie Irvin
Fergal Gilbert
Charlie Sexton
John Miller
Luke Sweeney
Dave Fitzpatrick

Contact details for members of the Executive Committee can be found on our 'About Us' page.