News‎ > ‎

AGM Report 2013

posted 13 Jan 2013, 14:08 by Unknown user   [ updated 4 Feb 2013, 04:03 ]

The annual general meeting of Kildangan GAA Club was held on Saturday 12th of January 2013 in Kildangan Hall and attracted a good attendance. At the meeting, members received full reports on the years activities from Club secretary Maureen Fitzgerald and outgoing chairman Declan McGrath, in addition to a comprehensive financial report from club treasurer Fiona Whelan. 

In her secretaries report Maureen Fitzgerald reviewed the past year in detail. On the fundraising front we had a busy year, some of the events were the 10K run, the table quiz in the Cross Keys, The Cake Sale, The Annual Raffle, The Field Day and The Bag Packing in Dunnes Stores. The Pigeon House Lotto  is a great regular source of income and the Secretary stated that we will hope to increase ticket sales in the coming year. She thanked Worrells for their generous sponsorship.

All those in attendance heard that year on year underage numbers continue to grow, however this in itself brings challenges as volunteers are urgently needed to help with the teams.

Our Cúl Camp was a great success again in July with 140 children attending.  

In his Chairman's address outgoing Chairman Declan McGrath thanked the committee for their support during his tenure, which he found both enjoyable and challenging. Due to work commitments he explained that he was not in a position to continue as Chairman for a further year. He congratulated all the winning teams within the club, and the Kildangan Nurney Ladies amalgamation.  

Treasurer Fiona Whelan presented the income and expenditure report, in which she detailed the major items of income and expenditure. The club continues on a sound financial footing.

Honourary President: Jim Miller, 
Life Presidents: John Casey, Tom Moran Snr, Joe Pender
Chairman: Gabriel Murtagh; 
Vice Chairman: Mel O Dowd
Secretary: Maureen Fitzgerald
Assistant Secretary: Mary Claire O Fearghail; 
Treasurer: Fiona Whelan; 
Assistant Treasurer: Norrie Quigley
PRO: Michael Higgins; 
Registar: Fiona Whelan; 
Youth Officer: Leanne Kelly
Committee: John Kilbride, Richard Holligan, Charlie Sexton, Mel O'Dowd, John Reilly,  John Miller, John Nealon, Robbie Irvine, Declan McGrath, Eileen Miller, Tom Moran, Jennifer Dunne.