News‎ > ‎

2017 AGM Report

posted 14 Jan 2018, 15:01 by Kildangan PRO   [ updated 14 Jan 2018, 15:11 ]
A large number of club members gathered in the clubhouse at More O'Ferrall Park on Friday, 12th January to reflect on 2017 and discuss plans for the upcoming year across a number of areas. A number of motions and recommendations were debated, and the committee for the upcoming year was elected.

Kildangan stalwart and committee member Charlie Sexton started proceedings by paying respects to club members that passed away during the year, in particular Joe Pender, who had featured on the 1947 team, and concluded with a prayer.

Michael Higgins, club secretary, gave a month-by-month account of 2017, covering everything from the successes of Kildangan and Abbey Rangers juvenile teams to the club's steady finances, on behalf of the outgoing treasurer, John Nealon.

Juvenile chairman, John Reilly, referred to the progress that has been made at all underage levels within the club, and the school programme, which runs over a total of twelve weeks and has contributed to the success of the Cumann na mBunscol teams. John congratulated the successful under 12 team, and spoke of the sportsmanlike approach to defeat by the under 13 team, and the club's representation on the county's Lily Óg panels. He commended the mentors and parents for their support along the way, acknowledinging that none of this progress could have been achieved without their assistance.

Michael then passed over to incoming club chairman, Declan McGrath, concluded by giving a very promising description on his plans for the next twelve months under five headings; Finance, Grounds, Senior Teams, Abbey Rangers and Juvenile. Promotion of the Pigeon House lotto, presentation of the club's image, and the return of the senior team to Junior football were among some of Declan's more prominent points.

Our committee for 2018 is as follows:

Honorary President:
Jim Miller

Life Presidents:
Tom Moran Snr

Executive Committee:
Chairperson: Declan McGrath
Secretary & Registrar: Michael Higgins
Treasurer: Mel O'Dowd
Assistant Treasurer: John Nealon
Public Relations Officer: Andrew Wilson
County Board Delegate: John Miller
Underage Chairperson: John Reilly
Children's Officer: Maureen Fitzgerald

Extended Committee:
John Kilbride
Brendan Abbey
Liam O'Donovan
Robbie Irvin
Fergal Gilbert
Charlie Sexton

Contact details for members of the Executive Committee can be found on our 'About Us' page.