News‎ > ‎

2016 AGM Report

posted 1 Feb 2017, 02:39 by Kildangan PRO   [ updated 3 Feb 2017, 06:14 ]
Our Annual General Meeting took place on Friday, 27th January 2017. The meeting was reasonably well attended and the club's endeavours in 2016 and plans for 2017 were discussed.

John Miller reflected on a number of topics in his chairperson's report, beginning with the achievements of the senior team on their return to Junior and Division 3 football in 2016, and pointed to the fantastic underage work done by juvenile chairperson, John Reilly. While fundraising and administration continue to be challenging for the club, Miller mentioned some future projects for medium-term consideration. He also thanked John Kilbride for his fantastic work in managing and maintaining the club's pitch and facilities. Michael Higgins echoed similar sentiments in the secretary's report, adding the success of the Abbey Rangers amalgamation with Ballykelly and that the club's Cúl Camp was among the highest attended in the county at 114 children. Thanks were given to the previous secretary, Maureen Fitzgerald, who put a stellar amount of time and effort into the club over her tenure.

Juvenile chairperson John Reilly gave an insight into the club's progression at underage level. He spoke about the success of the older teams, with our under 12 team winning the Seanie Barber Blitz and our under 13 team reaching the Division 4 league final. John also gave credit to our under 11 team, who are competing in Division 2 against first teams from Moorefield and Athy. He mentioned the high numbers at under 9 and under 10 level, which shows how underage structures have progressed in the last few years. However, John also emphasised that, for this to continue, squad numbers need to increase or at least remain stable. This in turn will allow the club to continue providing football at all age groups. Lastly, John thanked the mentors, parents, local national school and players for their support.

John Nealon's treasurer's report highlighted that the club remains in a stable position financially, however fundraising continues to be a challenge.

Our committee for 2017 is as follow:

Honorary President:
Jim Miller

Life Presidents:
Charlie Sexton
Joe Pender
Tom Moran Snr

Executive Committee:

Secretary & Registrar: Michael Higgins
Assistant Secretary: Adrienne Gilbert
Treasurer: John Nealon
Assistant Treasurer: Michelle Reilly
Public Relations Officer: Andrew Wilson
County Board Delegate: John Miller

Extended Committee:
John Kilbride
John Nealon
Brendan Abbey
Gabriel Murtagh
Declan McGrath
Liam O'Donovan
Robbie Irvin
Fergal Gilbert
Mel O'Dowd