News‎ > ‎

2014 AGM Report

posted 22 Jan 2015, 13:13 by Kildangan PRO   [ updated 27 Jan 2015, 09:07 ]

Our 2014 AGM took place on Friday, 10th January. Those who attended heard details of the past season and the plans in place for the oncoming year.


Club secretary Maureen Fitzgerald reflected on a positive year for the club in her report, emphasising fundraising in particular. The inaugural year of Croke Park’s National Draw ensured things got off to a good start in 2014. The ‘night at the dogs’ in May proved very successful, as did last week’s race night, which was held in conjunction with the Kildangan/Nurney ladies’ club. Another new fundraising idea for the club was the member’s draw for two All-Ireland hurling final tickets. Following a mention of the senior team’s performance in the 2014 league and championship, Maureen concluded her report by thanking sponsors for their continued support.


The year was also a successful one at juvenile level,  as mentioned by chairman Gabriel Murtagh in his report. The addition of a number of new mentors has helped to develop the skills of the club’s younger players. On the field of play, our under 13 team won Division 5 of the league, while our under 12s narrowly lost out to a good Nurney side in the Division 4 final. The under 9 team competed in Division 3 during the second phase of their league campaign, competing against clubs with a much larger numbers. Gabriel also gave thanks to John Kilbride for his great efforts in maintaining More O'Ferrall Park and set out what he believes to be the key considerations for the club in 2015. 


Tributes were paid to Gabriel Murtagh and Fiona Whelan, who were not seeking re-election as chairman and treasurer respectively, as well as Eileen Miller, Norrie Quigley and Mary Claire Ó Fearghaíl who, after many years of service to the club, have stepped down from the committee.

Following from the chairman's address the following committee was elected for 2015:

Honorary President 

Jim Miller 

Life Presidents

Johnny Casey

Tom Moran Snr

Joe Pender


Executive Committee

Chairman: Michael Higgins

Vice chairman: Tom Moran

Secretary: Maureen Fitzgerald

Treasurer: Jennifer Dunne

Assistant Treasurer: Mel O'Dowd

Registrar: Maureen Fitzgerald​

County Board Representative: John Miller

Public Relations Officer: Andrew Wilson

Underage Chairman: John Reilly

Youth Officer: Leanne Kelly


Committee Members

Mel O’Dowd

John Kilbride

John Nealon

Gabriel Murtagh

Declan McGrath

Richard Holligan

Tom Moran

John Miller

Liam O’Donovan

John Reilly

Robbie Irvine

Luke Sweeney

Patrick Kelly

For contact details, please click here.